Change of Plans

Welp…so that didn’t turn out like I had anticipated…AT ALL. Ok, let’s back up. So this summer I had planned on doing an internship, you know getting some work experience, building up that resume a little bit. Buuuuuuut it turns out nobody wants me.

I don't see why, I'm so clearly awesome.
I don’t see why, I’m so clearly awesome.

Well yeah, so I applied to a bunch of internships and they all either never replied or said no. But at this point I’ve pretty much given up. Admittedly I maaaay have put a few many eggs in the NASA basket. I mean I applied to other places, like SpaceX. Ok, fine maybe I overestimated my personal level of awesomeness. But hey, now I know, I’ll be sure to add in the correction factor next time.

It’s not the end of the world though. I find it hard to believe that whether or not I got a NASA internship during the summer after my junior year in college is going to weigh heavily on the rest of my life. Don’t get me wrong, it would have been amazing, and I would have learned a lot, and I would have bragged soooo much about it, but such is life. No the real problem is that I don’t (well, didn’t) have a plan B. I thought I had cast a wide enough net that at least one person would say yes, so much so I didn’t even think about what I would do if everyone said no. But guess what? They did say no, and I’m going home, and I’m really angsty.

Luckily I always have John Cusack to calm me down.
Whenever I feel down I always look to John Cusack and that Canadian Screen Award winning smile.

Once again, I’m torn. I love going home, I get to see my family, I get to see my dog, I get to hang out with my friends. I am completely confident that this summer is going to be really fun. The problem is figuring out what I’m going to do the rest of the time. I’ve done the sit around playing video games thing a few too many times, I always run out of games by week 4. Also money, I want some. That means I have to get a job, which means more angst. More applying, more wondering if they’ll hire me. At least this time I don’t have to worry about where I’m going to live or how I’m going to get around. Plus I think the qualifications are a little lower than NASA, but still such angst.

giphy-2
Shout out to Harry Potter Puppets

Ugh, this is one of those times when I want to skip like two weeks forward in time to when this is all figured out and I can just relax. This always happens every time I have a lab due. I sit around and worry about doing my lab until I eventually rush to do it in the last minute. But it always turns out alright and I hand it in and it’s fine and I’m just left wondering why I do this to myself every week.

Why John Cusack why??
Why John Cusack why??

Point being, everything will eventually be great, I just have to get through the bullshit. Uuuuuuuuuuuuugh, this is one of those times when it would help to be a robot. Like I consider myself to be pretty laid back, I don’t tend to worry about a lot of stuff. But man, something about figuring out what I’m going to do is just…I don’t know, but it’s daunting. If I could just like, turn off my brain for a week or two, just get all this crap done, then turn it all back on when it’s all over. Too bad the Apple Brain is a few decades out. I supposed you could get the same effect with alcohol, but that hardly seems like a good idea.

John Cusack, thoughts?
John Cusack, agrees.

Jobs stuff aside I do have some cool plans for what I’m going to do this summer. Of course I always say that, but this time I have schematics. I’m calling it my 5-Point Engineering Challenge. Basically I’m challenging myself to design build test (blog about) 5 cool things. I figure if NASA doesn’t want me, fuck ’em, I’ll do badass science stuff on my own (NASA I don’t mean that, I ❤ you!). I have some cool ideas of stuff I want to make, I made some drawings, and hopefully I’ll actually get to build them. For those of you that are wondering, yes, one of them is indeed a trebuchet.  I should also say that I have no idea if any of them will work, but I guess that’s what the engineering degree is for. Anyways, I’ll have more info later if you’re interested in following along, in fact it’ll probably become the theme of the blog for the summer.

Aside from that I’ve got some more shorts to work on (short films, no the articles of clothing). I have some scripts, all I need now are my friends TO GET OFF THEIR LAZY ASSES. I don’t know, last time they were busy because they were on an egg hunt, so we’ll see what their excuse is this time. Of course there’s also DnD, but considering I’m like 10 episodes behind writing-wise, I doubt you’ll hear about it until like February  2017. There’s also some talk about expanding into other forms of media, but I won’t go into that now because that is very much in early phases.

Thanks John Cusack
Thanks John Cusack

Alright, it’s all going to be alright, just gotta get through the next two weeks. See you on the other side…or….in the middle I guess…I mean if I decide to write another post between now and then it won’t really be the other side- you know what I mean.

