Trying Not to Die

Let me be clear about something. I do not have a fear of heights. There’s nothing scary about heights. Heights are just an arbitrary distance, a notch on a ruler. I do however have a deep seeded fear of falling. So a few weeks ago my friends and I made a visit to the Cliffs of Moher.

I'll give you five bucks if you can spot the people standing in this picture.
I’ll give you five bucks if you can spot the people standing in this picture.

Things started off in the wee hours of the morning, around 9 o’clock, we boarded a tour bus and set off for The Burren. Now I’m not much of a fan of tour buses, personally I prefer exploring myself, but seeing as I didn’t have a car, the tour bus was pretty much our only option. Anyways, The Burren is an interesting geological area in Ireland (which also happens to be where the Cliffs of Moher are located if that wasn’t clear). Imagine a field, but then you got rid of all the dirt and just threw a bunch of rocks everywhere like it was decorative gourd season.

So pretty much as desolate and forlorn as you would expect Ireland to look.
So pretty much as desolate and forlorn as you would expect Ireland to look.

So we took a quick pit stop, looked at what appeared to be an Irish version of Stonehenge if the guys who built Stonehenge had gotten really drunk. It essentially amounted to a couple really big rocks stacked on top of each other, which is kinda cool. After a quick break for some parkour on the rocks, we hopped back on the bus and drove about two feet to another heritage site. Pretty boring stuff, until we saw they had some sheep dog demonstrations.

Needless to say, my dog has some impressing to do.
Needless to say, my dog has some impressing to do.

Then we got lunch, yadda yadda yadda, this story is getting very boring. Anyway after a long and largely uneventful drive along the ocean we finally arrived at the Cliffs.

IMG_2087

No not those cliffs

IMG_2089

These cliffs. Standing 700 ft above the ocean below, with nothing but 3 feet of wet grass between you and the most badass/horrifying GoPro footage on the planet the Cliffs of Moher are pretty impressive. I am exaggerating a bit. There is a wall, mostly. For probably 1,500 feet to either side of the entrance, there is a pretty sizable stone barricade keeping dumb tourists from getting a little too close and falling over, but then it just ends. And that means there’s a bunch of dumb idiots trying to look over the edge.

ya big dumb idiot
ya big dumb idiot

If you were to fall off of the Cliffs of Moher, it would take you 6.61 seconds to reach the bottom. That’s a lot of time to questions your life choices. If you were to make some sort of human ladder to climb back up, you would need 178.3333 friends with you, or 178 friends and a small goat. If you wanted to make a pyramid the size of the Cliffs of Moher and win the cheerleading competition you would need 15,931 people in your cheerleading squad (which would probably get you disqualified). Oh and its also where they filmed that scene from Harry Potter.

The one with the cave or whatever, I never really liked Harry Potter so I don't really care.
The one with the cave or whatever, I never really liked Harry Potter so I don’t really care.

Ignoring the out-of-place Harry Potter reference, the point I’m trying to get at is that the Cliffs of Moher are really tall. So we stacked up on selfies

IMG_2111

Took a few group shots

IMG_4669

And did our best to observe Ireland’s “no wall humping” policy.

"keep it in your pants stick man!"
“keep it in your pants stick man!”

Also this cow

I sI

But where'd his head go?
But where’d his head go?

I suppose this should really be a photoblog monthly at this point, both because of the number of pictures I’m essentially bragging about, and because I haven’t done one of those in a while. But it’s too late now. Quick! Photoblast!

I hate it when my friends are more photogenic than me.
I hate it when my friends are more photogenic than me.

Here’s Ryan looking like a pussy:

IMG_4751

Here’s Dongjae kicking the air like some kind of-

Ok, that's kind of badass
Ok, that’s pretty badass

Here’s Katherine being boring (as per usual):

IMG_4729

 

Here’s TJ five seconds before he died:

With the added bonus of Ryan being a pussy again
With the added bonus of Ryan being a pussy again

And last, but most importantly, here’s me looking fly AF:

IMG_2092

 

So I’m thinking this totally counts as Matt’s Photoblog monthly for, what is it? July?! Damn the summer is flying fast. Anyways, if you want to see more pictures, but with an added bonus of annoying, occasionally humorous caption you can check those out at our sister blog [Last Name] Photography.

