We Need to Save Matt Damon!

Holy crap you  guys, they turned The Martian into a movie, and it is going to be amazing. If you’re not familiar The Martian is a sic-fi novel written by Andy Weir about a guy who gets left behind on a manned mission to Mars, you may recall it was on my reading list from last semester. Well guess who they got to play the guy who gets left behind. MATT FREAKING DAMON.

It's Matt Damon!!
It’s Matt Damon!!

Sorry, I’m really into Matt Damon. But for real you guys, if it’s anything at all like the books it’s going to be balls-off-the-walls amazing. I am so pumped and you should be too, so if you haven’t already, go watch the trailer.

Now that you have been thoroughly pumped up, let me tell you why this movie is going to be awesome. First and foremost, Matt Damon. Matt Damon is the man, if anything he’s too badass for this movie. But Matt Damon isn’t alone, I mean in the movie, he’s very much alone on Mars, but there are other people, like back on earth, you know what I mean. This movie’s got Sean Bean, that lady from Zero Dark Thirty/Interstellar, Kristen Wiig for some reason, Kate Mara…

Kate Mara tho
Kate Mara tho

And Donald Glover, aka Childish Gambino, aka Troy Barnes, aka awesome. Oh and it’s being directed by Ridley Scott, nbd. If I’m being totally honest this movie has an insane amount of talent for a film that’s really only about one guy, but I’m not complaining.

Kate Mara tho
Kate Mara tho

But Matt Damon and Kate Mara aren’t the only reasons to be excited for The Martian. For once I have actually read the book, and let me tell you, the source material is top notch. It’s like Interstellar meets Hatchet.

You remember Hatchet, that book you "read" in 5th grade.
You remember Hatchet, that book you “read” in 5th grade.

This movie’s going to get compared to Interstellar a lot, if for no other reason than the fact that Ridley Scott appears to have stolen half its cast.  But where Interstellar loaded up on high-level astrophysics, and more than a healthy serving of bullshit, in typical Nolan style, The Martian is all about hard science. [spoiler alert:] Matt Damon doesn’t fall into a black hole and suddenly appear in a multi-dimensional tesseract created by what we assume are future humans trying to get him to save the world. No Matt Damon has to rely on real, practical science.

that kind
that kind

In fact, you could replicate just about everything that Matt Damon’s character does in The Martian. Although I wouldn’t recommend it, some of the stuff he does is stupidly dangerous.

But in a Badass Matt Damon kind of way
But in a Badass Matt Damon kind of way

Oh but there’s more. The Martian also presents an incredibly realistic model Mars Program. We’ll see how everything is portrayed in the film, but don’t be surprised if the real life Mars missions look a lot like The Martian’s. I will say that based on the trailer, there’s already quite a bit of embellishing going on (let’s just say that the Hermes’ windows are a little too big).

The pressure differenti- oh hey Kate Mara!
The pressure differential would simply be too lar-  oh hey Kate Mara!

The Mars Program in the film is called Ares, and it’s actually a really good model if you’re looking to go to Mars. From the looks of it, the program would probably be pretty expensive. In part because they rely on about a dozen support missions to get all their gear to Mars, and also because they rely on both a Mars Descent Vehicle and a Mars Ascent Vehicle. Although in their defense, that’s probably what real life NASA is going to end up doing.

That is if they stop playing around with their flying saucers.
That is if they stop playing around with their flying saucers.

Anyways, if it’s anything like the book, The Martian is sure to be amazing. But then again it has Matt Damon in it so it has to be amazing. And while you’re waiting for the movie to come out, go read the book it’s really good, easily the best book I’ve read all year. It’s straight up action packed, it’s not too long (It took me about 3 days), and it’s aerospace engineer approved.

By me...I'm the aerospace engineer...who approved it.
By me…I’m the aerospace engineer…who approved it…metaphorically speaking of course…no one actually asked me to approve it…nor is my approval considered official or anything…I’m just saying I really enjoyed it…and it earned my personal seal of approval…yay.
