Welcome to Ireland

Ok, wow. I’d like to issue a massive apology. Over the past couple of weeks I have let Gilmo’s World fall into major disrepair. In the time since I’ve posted last I took all my exams, I flew home, the apple watch was released, I went to Boston, I played a ton of GTA, I flew to Ireland, and I’m now balls-deep in aerodynamics and orbital mechanics.

Not to mention stuffed in a tiny room with 30 other people
Not to mention stuffed in a tiny room with 30 other people

Given the whole “being on another continent” thing I’m afraid it’s going to take some time to get back to my usual routine. But luckily for you, I’m still jet lagged, which means despite being 2 in the morning, I’m still wide awake writing columns (which is waaay past my bedtime).

I may or may not also be a little tipsy
I may or may not also be a little tipsy

Let’s get to the fun stuff, after a fun, but all too short couple of weeks home I’ve come to Limerick Ireland to study at the University of Limerick (and no the name has nothing to do with the type of poem). For those of you who don’t know Limerick is here:

LimmerickIsHere

It’s a quaint little town on the banks of the River Shannon. And trust me when I say, it’s quaint as fuck. Anyways I’m studying Aerospace stuff with a bunch of other kids from Georgia Tech. I feel like I shouldn’t really have to explain study abroad, but people always ask me anyways so there ya go.

Meat + Pie = Delicious
Meat + Pie = Delicious

A couple of my friends are on the trip so that’s been chill. So far this week has been pretty fun. Haven’t done too too much, but I went for a walk the other day and read about some guy named Cushy:

I do enjoy a good game of keep away!
I do enjoy a good game of keep away!

We went to some festival that they set up on campus, had a beer, and sang along to the soundtrack of Grease, it was great.

I don't know why, but the Irish really love the soundtrack to the movie Grease
I don’t know why, but the Irish really love the soundtrack to Grease

Life is good in the Emerald Isle, if that isn’t too cheesy to say. I’m thoroughly enjoying my classes, and we got a trip to Dublin in the works for this weekend. I have quite a lot on my plate though, so like I said try to be patient while I get the blog back up and running. I’m here for 10 weeks so be sure to check back in for more, and if photos are more your thing, head over to [Last Name] Photography where I’ll be posting most of my photos (albeit with a sarcastic, semi-ironic comment at the bottom).

-Cheers (yup, this is a thing now)

So fucking quaint
So fucking quaint

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Welcome to Ireland

Comments are closed.