Spring 2015 Reading List

It’s a new year, which means it’s time for a new reading list! I’m quite happy with this semester’s list, it’s a little longer, but unlike last year I don’t have a 500 page anthropological study to get through so it should be a tad lighter overall. I have high hopes for this year’s list, or as I’ve taken to calling it, “all the books I got for christmas” so let’s get right down to it.

The Zombie Survival Guide

This one’s pretty self-explanatory. Living in Atlanta I find myself at higher risk of death by zombie-related disembowelment, so reading up on strategies and techniques for keeping my bowels intact seems prudent. I don’t know about you, but I’d hate to end up as a character on the real life version of the Walking Dead.

I want to become a zombie so I can kill Carl myself

All joking aside, this tome seems pretty legit. It’s written by Max Brooks, aka the guy who wrote World War Z (the book, not the movie) so he’s sure to know his stuff. Plus it’s got those cool little drawings that they put in camping manuals and Boy Scout brochures. I expect this one to be both fun and informational, my second favorite combination.

The Martian

oh good it’s “A Novel”

In all honesty I hadn’t heard of this book until one of my siblings gave it to me for christmas. Which is good, I like receiving gifts I don’t anticipate. Anyways, I don’t quite know what to expect. It seems right down my alley what with the spaceman on the cover, plus mars is cool, however I don’t know much about this Andy Weir bloke, so we’ll see. I think it’ll be good though I rather enjoy survival stories.

What If?

We’ve now entered the non-fiction section of the list. This particular tome was written by Randall Munroe, who also just happens to be the man behind the immortal xkcd internet comic. Just one problem I don’t…read…xkcd…

Look I know I should, everyone says it’s great, and the few ones I’ve read have been quite funny. I don’t know, I’ve just never had the impulse to go read them, I don’t know. Anyways this book sounds awesome. I love it when people take ridiculous scenarios, like throwing a baseball at light speed, and use science to describe what would happen. It’s one of those things that makes me really enjoy physics. I know, I’m weird.

Hot Zone

Ok I have a confession to make, I already read this book. Err…well I started to read this book, but I couldn’t finish it. Sorry, let me back up a bit. The final and most disturbing entry on this semester’s reading list is Hot Zone, the horrifying recounting of that time ebola got loose…in 1989. Unbeknownst to me, ebola was kicking around the US (albeit briefly) even before Back to the Future Part III.

What a different movie that would have been…with ebola.

Now back to what I was saying earlier. The book starts off recounting the origins of the 1989 incident in graphic detail. The main reason Ebola is so scary (aside from it’s sky high fatality rate) is because of the symptoms, hemorrhaging doesn’t do it justice. At a certain point you just can’t keep reading about that stuff. Once I got to the part, “and then the patient began to bleed from his anus” I just couldn’t do it anymore. But I’ve decided to put on a brave face and try to get through it this time. I’m told it’s a great book once you get past the whole “bleeding from every orifice” thing, so maybe it’s worth another go.

