Welcome to Art Class

So the other day I was surfing my way through Amazon, when I stumbled upon an amazing deal: 1000 popsicle sticks for $4! Now I had been jonesing for an excuse to glue some stuff together, so I snagged that deal quick. Fun fact, 1000 popsicle sticks is a LOT of popsicle sticks, but that’s besides the point. The point is I’m about to blow your mind with arts and crafts!

So at first I just started making some basic shapes, triangles, rhombi, and whatever the hell that third thing is.

Clearly it's the Scottish flag
Clearly it’s the Scottish flag

But that stuff’s chump change. Any two year old can make a triangle, but can a two-year-old make… A HEXAGON?!

If you stare at it long enough it looks like a cube
If you stare at it long enough it looks like a cube

As much as I love geometry, I could go for something a little more lethal. How’s about a slingshot? Well it was supposed to be a slingshot…

Kinda looks like one of them fangorious guitars
Kinda looks like one of them fangorious guitars

Alright now seriously, enough of these garbage “arts” and “crafts”. It’s time to really blow your mind. How do you like THE THIRD DIMENSION!!! WEEE-OOOOW-WOOOOOW-SKA-BOOOSH!

Suck my bridge
Suck my bridge

Oh yeah, that’s a free standing bridge made entirely out of popsicle sticks. Please send all your praise and adulation to gilmosworld@gmail.com. No, it’s not sorcery, I’m just that good. That thing is rock solid too. I tried to break it, thing wouldn’t budge.

But if one bridge is cool, then two bridges is AMAZING!

OH MY GOD THEY'RE CONNECTED!!
OH MY GOD THEY’RE CONNECTED!!

Oh yeah, you can cross, not one, but two small ravines with those babies. The second one is a tad flimsier than the first one, but I was using school glue, what are you gonna do?

Alright I got one last mind blowing art that is also a craft. If you thought those bridges were awesome, what’ll you take a peak at this!

20 sides for 20 times the awesomeness
20 sides for 20 times the awesomeness

Yes that is a full fledged icosahedron. Sidenote: if anyone can tell me how to pronounce icosahedron, please let me know. For all of you who aren’t up on your DnD knowledge and icosahedron is a 3D object with 20 sides, all made up of equilateral triangles. If you’re wondering what all those black marks are don’t worry, the picture isn’t redacted, my glue wasn’t cooperating so I had to use tape, and the only tape I happened to have was electrical tape, so yeah. I admit it’s not perfect, but it’s pretty badass. Sorry did I say pretty badass? I meant +15 badass, with a +4 awesomeness buff.

 

On the Second Day of Matt’s Vaguely Religious Winter-Themed Festivities my true love gave to me

2 Stupid Birds

Oh, Great...Birds...
Gobble Gobble

 

 

