Study Music

I love music. Simple as that. whenever I’m doing anything that doesn’t involve actively listening to something, or paying a great deal of attention to whatever I’m doing (and even sometimes when I am) I’m listening to music. Studying is no exception. In fact I find that the key to a good study session is an equally good study playlist.

Epic Sax Guy Required
Epic Sax Guy Required

Personally I have a number of playlists that I listen to, composed of a variety of genres depending on what I’m feeling at the time. For when I’m feeling too cool for those mainstream study tracks I’ve got the “Oddly Obscure” playlist. For when I want to get pumped up there’s my personal favorite “Hooplah Jams” playlist. Of course there’s always “Awesome Mix Vol. 1” lovingly recreated from the Guardians of the Galaxy movie, and “Lovey Dovey” for when the mood strikes, and that’s not even mentioning “Now That’s What I Call Middle School”, “Playlist 2000”, and “Shibedy Doo Bop”.

It's just 2 hours of The Edge doing free verse poetry
The last one is just 2 hours of The Edge doing free verse poetry

Really any solid playlist can become a good study playlist, you just have to make sure it follows two criteria. Firstly, it can’t be too distracted. As amazing of a song as Sultans of Swing is, it doesn’t make for good studying material if you have to stop and shred some nasty air guitar every time that sick solo comes on. Secondly, it has to aid or encourage you to continue studying. If listening to Say Something makes you want to crawl up in a ball and cry for three hours, first off get over it, and second off keep it out of your study playlist.

I'd be lying if I said that thing didn't look weirdly comfortable
I’d be lying if I said that thing didn’t look weirdly comfortable

It’s not required, but I would also recommend having a fair bit of variety. Keep things fresh so that even the enjoyable part of studying doesn’t become slow and monotonous. I’ll Make a Man Out of You is a fantastic song, but if you to listen to it on repeat for 4 hours studying for Calculus you will probably end up stabbing somebody.

SHUT YOUR FACE MULAN!
SHUT YOUR FACE MULAN!

Once you have a good selection of playlists to study to, it’s time for you pre-exam pump up playlist. This is a selection of tunes you play prior to whatever test, project, or paper you were preparing for as to get you as amped as possible to complete said task. This one doesn’t, and really shouldn’t, be nearly as complicated as the playlists we were just talking about. All it should be is a collection the the most jammin’ songs in your iTunes library. Your Danger Zone‘s, you The Best Around’s, and of course your Final Countdown‘s. Personally my pre-exam pump-up playlist is just the Mighty Morphin’ Power Rangers and Power Rangers Turbo Theme Songs. Say what you will but it gets the job done.

Say hello to your 4.0 GPA

