Move-In Day

Sorry If I don’t have much to say today, but today was move-in day so I didn’t quite have time for my usual process, it was move-in day.  They say that you don’t know what you’ve got until it’s gone, but I would argue the counter point is also true. Jeez, were the Freshman dorms terrible. I didn’t realize your room isn’t supposed to smell like that. Although I will say, my old Freshman dorm did have one nice thing about it. The dorm had a nice lounge with a TV, a sofa, and a sweet ping pong table. The new apartment…not so much.

You should see it when they bring out the second chair, people go crazy.
You should see it when they bring out the second chair, people go crazy.

I should probably catch you up. If you recall, last year I was in an all-male freshman dorm. It was terrible. I mean it was habitable, but that’s not saying much, what being the minimum requirement of a residence hall. Well that was last year, this year, I am in an on-campus apartment with three of my friends from college. Needless to say it’s a step up, or a giant leap up rather. It’s awesome, I got my own room, a little shared kitchen, and most importantly of all, a non-communal bathroom. OH MY GOD YES! Gone are the days of waking up at 1 am to release the kraken only to have my late night festivities interrupted by the exorcism going on in the next stall.

Here's a puppy to make you forget about that image
Here’s a puppy to make you forget about that image

I can finally take a shower without my shoes on. It is so nice. Now if you’ll excuse me I have to rearrange my furniture for the eight millionth time, because it’s not like there’s only so many ways you can arrange a bed, a desk and a wardrobe, in a room slightly larger than a jail cell.

It’s still August Month of Madness so keep it locked right here for your daily does of Gilmo, and feel free to send you questions, comments, and suggestions to GilmosWorld@gmail.com

