Guardians of the Galaxy: Before and After

Before:

I don’t understand why they are making Guardians of the Galaxy. Why? Why would you make a movie that stars among other things, an anthropomorphic Racoon, and a talking tree? Just why? It just makes no sense. Why anyone would want to make a movie based on a comic that no one except for maybe three people care about, staring the stupidest cast of characters this side of Howard the Duck, is beyond me. Surely there are far more interesting and cooler Marvel characters who are more deserving of their own film. You couldn’t make a Black Widow movie? The people over at Marvel Studios must be smoking a whole lot of crack to think that Guardians of the Galaxy is a good idea. It’s going to suck so hard.

jackie-chan-wtf-face-meme-i9

After:

Oh my god I love this movie! I take back everything I ever said. Guardians of the Galaxy is easily my favorite movie I’ve seen all year, granted I haven’t seen a whole lot of movies this year, but still. What I love about Got-G is that it recognizes how inherently ridiculous of a movie it is, and as a result it never takes itself too seriously. It’s an a-typical superhero movie that understands exactly what it is: Star Fox meets Star Wars, and it’s awesome.

Anthropomorphic animals and all!
Anthropomorphic animals and all!

In fact what I was most surprised with was the racoon and the tree. In the lead up to the film they were easily the two most controversial elements of the entire premise. One only needs to look at Jar Jar Binks to see why movie goers have a natural distaste for CGI-based characters. But they were badass! In fact all the characters are surprisingly well rounded. You’d expect a film like Got-G to focus almost exclusively on Peter Quill and the Green Lady, but the three other characters have a delightfully surprising amount of time in the sun as well.

To tell you the truth I could not be any more happy about Guardians of the Galaxy. I went in expecting an atrocity, and came out with my favorite new series. I suspect part of what made Guardians such a great movie was it’s own obscurity. It had nothing to live up to, and hardly any obsessive fans to criticize every single move on the part of the director (beyond the whole why is this getting made thing). It was a brilliant move on behalf of Marvel Studios, and I have major respect for them now.  Got-G was charming, and funny, and everything I wanted it to be. I cannot wait for the next one to come out, also now I really want to play Star Fox 64

Shut up Peppy
Shut up Peppy

 

