Back to School

I always seem to forget how much time back to school stuff takes up. Needless to say it infringed a bit on my blogging time, but hey there’s still 3ish hours left in the day, so let’s get cracking. In addition to being a MONTH OF MADNESS! August is also Back to School season, which if you’re in college means being dragged to 8 different stores to look at pots and pans, despite the fact that your cooking ability only extends as far as turning on the toaster oven.

Damnit Brian!
Damnit Brian!

Perusing the cookware aisle aside, back to school season is actually a rather exciting one. At least now it is. Before it used to mean and end to those late nights staying up with your bros, playing video games and talking about girls, and a start to late nights of hot chocolate and crying into the AP Euro Textbook. I mean it still is, but going back to college is a far more exciting experience. Although much more so your second year than your first. Because while you may be excited to go to college for the first time, it’s also a scary time, I mean leaving your childhood friends behind, going to a new place, living by yourself, trying to find your classes in buildings with nonsensical numerical systems! Save the hoopla and give me my Euro book back Gilmo needs some me time.

Damn you 16th century Itally, why must you be so cruel?!
Damn you 16th century Itally, why must you be so cruel?!

But once you’ve been through it all before, going back is just plain awesome. You know where everything is, you’ve become accustomed to talking to your old friends sporadically over Skype, and you’ve likely made a few more as well, plus you now get to make fun of all the incoming freshmen! What could be better!

Ha look at that dumb Freshman with his dumb...face...area
Ha look at that dumb Freshman with his dumb…face…area

The fact is next year I’m going to be living in a sweet apartment with three of my friends, talking a bunch of classes I’m genuinely interested in, and I have enough pots and pans to build a cookware-based suit of armor! I mean yeah it’ll be sad that I’m leaving home, yeah it’s sad that I won’t see my childhood friends for another 4 months (what’s 4 months between friends?), but I’m going to college! As a Sophomore! Now if you’ll excuse me I have to go throw a stuffed shark off the roof of the CULC.

Oh poor Sharky Shark, I will never let you live this down.
Oh poor Sharky Shark, I will never let you live this down.

Blah blah blah August Month of Madness blah blah blah GilmosWorld@gmail.com blah blah blah blah blah blah Puppies.

Words cannot describe
Words cannot describe
