Competetive Sing-Alongs

Nothing is better than chilling with your friends listening to some tasty jams while playing a little Xbox. Life leaves us with such little time to just relax and hangout with hardly a care in the world, except for your one friend with awful taste in music. It is easily my favorite part of the summer, even better than Maple Creemees. Although I’ve started to notice something peculiar.

And I'm not talking about this horse
And I’m not talking about this horse

My friends and I all love music. All of us were in band together, a couple of us had a little garage band back in the day, and we like to bump some tunes at every available opportunity. So naturally my friends are the kind of people who like to sing along to the better songs that come on. And when you add in a little *ahem* hubris, the result is the competitive sing along. You may be familiar with this phenomenon. It is composed of two or more individuals, each trying to out-do the other in a passive aggressive manner. Usually this means either singing louder, or emphasizing the words (so as to prove you know them better than the other person).

This happened once a little while ago, and I thought, oh it’s probably just a fluke, but then it kept happening. And it’s one of those things where once you notice it, you can’t un-notice it. I’ll just be chilling listening to a little Toto, and suddenly I’ll be in the midst of a battle to find out who better knows the words to Africa.

The answer is no one. No one knows the words.
The answer is no one. No one knows the words.

So the next time you’re just hanging out with your friends and your favorite song comes on, beware, someone else just might try to out sing you in their TERRIBLE FALSETO VOICE. Although if you do find yourself embroiled in a pointless battle of voices all you have to do is take off all your clothes and run around screaming “I’m a Vampire! I’m a Vampire!” It usually works.

 

Don’t forget, It’s still August Month of Madness, which means one post per day for the rest of the month. If you have a great idea for something for me to talk about, send your suggestions to GilmosWorld@gmail.com. Do it for the puppies.

Look at the face!
Look at the face!
