Serendipity

Come take a seat and let me tell you a story. Many years ago there were two best friends, some might call them the two best friends that anyone could have, but I’m pretty sure that phrase is copyrighted so I shan’t. Together they sailed the ocean blue, or at least the waters of the community sailing center. Throughout races and regattas, no matter how steep the competition, the two best friends always came out on top adjacent.

yay a boat!
yay a boat!

Well one day during yet another cold and stormy day of practice the coach of the sailing team decided to play a game. The Skippers would be blindfolded and it would be up to the crewman of each boat to steer the vessel, like a nautical game of Marco-Pollo where everyone who knew what they were doing was in the middle. Needless to say accidents were abound. Carefully the two friends navigated the treacherous course, making near-miss after near-miss. Eventually however their luck ran out. Whilst the unblinded friends was scanning the horizon, a rogue boat appeared suddenly, and before he could alert his friend, to point his tiller towards trouble, disaster had already struck. The two boats slammed into each other, don’t worry the boats were ok, the two friends and their compatriots were a slight bit rattled, but none the worse for ware.

But something magical happened during that ENTIRELY UNEXPECTED collision, upon gazing at the object of their collision, the skippers met for the very first time (kind of). Upon returning to shore the two friends shared comical arguments over  who was to blame. Later on, after de-rigging their nautical vessel, the skipper of the two went and talked to the lady-skipper with which whom he had crashed. The two became fast friends, and unbeknownst to the skipper’s friend, the two soon became close confidants. And by-god if life isn’t a movie because soon the two fell in love.

No, it is nothing like this movie
No, it is nothing like this movie

It’s a lovely story, but it is by no means over. Then again, no story is ever truly over, the only thing that changes is the characters, but I digress. Much has changed since that faithful day, events have unfolded that I have neither the authority, nor the permission to speak of, certainly not in such a public medium. But you’re probably wondering why I tell you this story, for no story is told without a purpose. I tell you this story, because I’m in it! Can you guess my part? Spoiler alert: I’m not the skipper.

Yup, I’m the skipper’s friend. I’m the crewman who wasn’t paying attention when that boat came OUT OF NOWHERE. And may I take the time to say, you’re welcome (and to other parties, I’m sorry). The reason I like that story isn’t so much the two star-crossed lovers motif, or the focus on sailing, or the fact that I’m involved (although it certainly helps). What I love so much is the cause.  For one he crash itself is so symbolically ripe, I could write article after article about how awesome it is.

Almost as awesome as this picture
Almost as awesome as this picture

And secondly, the collision was my fault! I, in my unending stupidity, changed the life of one of my best friends. Think about the implications!  It just screams of It’s a Wonderful Lifejust imagine how the world would be different if I hadn’t come a long a knocked a sizable dent in the life of my friend, and by extension the lives of all of my other friends. Additionally, I love how simple it was. An innocent accident that largely went unnoticed, went on to forever change the world…or at least my world. It’s just so cool to think how something so innocuous can be so powerful, forever changing the events that follow. It’s amazing to me how such a tiny character in an enormously complex story can alter the flow of events forever.

 

One thought on “Serendipity

Comments are closed.