5 Ways to do Better on Tests

In my continuing effort to practice my list making and dick joking skills, I’m back with another list of awesomeness, this time for test taking. This time in spirit of the computer science test I just took (and hopefully aced) I’m here with some tips about test taking. Everyone has their pre-test rituals, some people drink teas, some people do a little dance, and some weirdos study (it’s a little perverted if you ask me), but I have some strategies that I firmly believe will help you! get a better grade on your next quiz or test or exam. In full disclosure I should warn you that I’m no doctor, although I am a certified class 5 witch doctor, so I may not have all the physiological answers, but trust me, I know everything.

5. Max and Relax

The key to doing well on a test is maintaining a calm, relaxed, confident state of mind. When you are relaxed you are better at thinking things through, and you’re less likely to miss something by accident. You’re also more likely to remember things if you calm and relaxed rather than stressed. So take a deep breath and relax, I promise you it’s worth it, besides a bad grade is not the end of the world.

4. Cramming is for Clams

This goes back to that thing I just said about relaxing. The fact is that trying to cram in the last few bits of information seconds before a test does absolutely nothing to help you. All it’s going to do for you is get you worked up. Then you’re stressed, and you’re actually less likely to remember the origin and insertion of the Latissimus Dorsi. Your time is much better spent relaxing, and talking to your friends, seriously.

3. Your Grade is What You Think it is

You’d be surprised how big of an effect your mood and attitude affect performance. The fact of the matter is, if you go into a test expecting to fail, you will fail. 100% guaranteed. When you believe that you will do well, you feel more confident, and more relaxed, and thus are more likely put in maximum effort. Whereas if you believe that you are going to fail you will be so distracted worrying about the repercussions of your failure, or you just stop trying because there’s no point, and you will inevitably fail. Even if you force yourself to believe that you will do well despite evidence to the contrary, you will still do better than if you accepted your failure.

2. Time to Carboload

You’d be surprised how much energy your brain needs. If you want to stay awake, energized, focused, yadda yadda yadda all that good stuff that people talk about, then you need to keep supplying energy. Like I said I’m no doctor so I can’t prescribe a specific diet, but it basically boils down to: eat your fruits and vegetables, get some grains, stay away from lots of sugar so you don’t crash and drink LOTS of water. You got to hydrate science says that not drinking enough water leads to light headed ness, headache, oh and loss of concentration, just general bad stuff. Although don’t overdo it on the water, there’s nothing like the feeling of getting 15 minutes into a 3 hour exam and realizing you have to pee.

1. Sleep Young Padawan

The number one thing that everyone does wrong is not getting enough sleep. People always jokingly ask each other, “how late were you up studying last night?” It’s funny, but it’s really bad. If anything you should be getting MORE sleep before your big test. That extra 2 or 3 hours of extra studying you’re getting by staying up isn’t going to help you nearly as much as the 2-3 hours you’re loosing. So go to sleep and get your full 8 or 9 hours, you’ll be glad you did, trust me.

