The Future

So I just wasted the past hour and a half watching two guys play Halo. Well it wasn’t quite that simple, it was Bernie Burns and Gavin Free from Rooster Teeth (the people behind Red Vs. Blue) talking about Griffball, Slow Mo Guys and ultimately how Gavin started working at Rooster Teeth. It was actually a pretty interesting story. Gavin was originally a fan, he met the Rooster Teeth guys a couple of times, he did some stuff on Youtube, yadda yadda yadda he’s part of Achievement Hunter and plays video games for a living (among other things).  Side note: If anyone at Rooster Teeth wants to hire an 18 year old kid from Vermont who wastes all his time blogging, hit me up. Seriously though, hit me up…please?

Kid lyfe 5-eva
Kid lyfe 5-eva

What do I want to do when I grow up? My initial reaction was, what am I talking about, I’m never going to grow up. But my second and far more serious answer was I don’t know. On the one hand I love Rooster Teeth and everything about it, I love video games, I love making movies, and I would probably sell my soul to work at Rooster Teeth or Achievement Hunter. On the other hand I love science, I love engineering, and I love space.

I could imagine about 80 things that I would love to do, but how do I pick? What do I do. Right now I’m at College going for a BS in aerospace engineering, but what do I do if in five years I decide I really want to make Achievement Hunter videos? All of which begs the question, what am I going to be doing 5, 10, 20, even 50 years down the road, assuming the terminators don’t kill us all before then, but the question still stands! What is a guy to do?

While I was having a little personal crisis, I decided to get off my lazy ass an go to Clough Commons to study and such because I already paid my tuition so I may as well get something out of it. On the walk over I realized something. I don’t know what’s going to happen to me, maybe I’ll get a sick job at DARPA and design the Iron Man Suit

BTW I was at that speech (my convocation would go viral). Maybe I’ll get hired by Rooster Teeth (seriously guys I kind of know how to use photoshop!) on a fluke. Maybe I’ll make it big on YouTube. Maybe I’ll become a famous comedian and hang out with Aziz Ansari. Maybe Ben will become a famous director and we’ll team up and make kickass moives as the greatest duo in cinematic history (move over Batman and Robin). I don’t know, but isn’t that all the fun. I don’t know what path my life is going to take, I don’t know where I’ll end up. If I may refer you to my quotes page (I bet you didn’t even know I had a quotes page):

“Sometimes the Journey beats the destination. Especially if your shoes go jingle-jangle-jingle, and you meet some nice ladies along the way.” –Mr. New Vegas (look at that Rooster Teeth, I can quote video games!)

I don’t want to head down some pre-ordained path that leads to some pre-determined job. I want to go down the twists and turns of life. I want to be famous (I mean who doesn’t). I want a make a left turn and go down a new path. I want to end up somewhere I never would have guessed I would end up (I’m talking to you Rooster Teeth).  I want…I want adventure! I want what this guy’s talking about:

BTW I was there too! What I want is to stand at the precipice, look out over all that I’ve done, and all that I’ve  seen, I want to look at my friends, and my family, I want to look at my job, and my presumably large pile of money and say, “How the hell did I end up here?” And then I will be happy, my wish will have granted, even if I don’t end up working for Rooster Teeth.

So how am I going to do this? It’s going to take work. It’s going to take balls. I’m probably going to have to suffer. So how do I go from point A to point B and every where in between. Well it kind of defeats the purpose if I have it all planned out, but I should probably set down some goals. I WILL accomplish the following goals before…eventually (I don’t exactly have a firm time frame yet):

  • Make an awesome Youtube channel and get a partnership with Youtube
  • Make a Movie
  • Build/make something awesome/badass
  • Write a novel
  • Popularize this blog
  • Be on or be mentioned on National TV
  • Change someone else’s life forever (in a positive way, duh)
  • Have a Nerf war
  • Get an article featured on Cracked
  • Meet the Rooster Teeth guys
  • Work for an awesome company/have an awesome job
  • Have an awesome show with my friend(s)
