Wind Ensemble

20130502-181734.jpg

If you want to experience pure unadulterated boredom, I recommend you come to Wind Ensemble. We do absolutely nothing but sit there for an hour and a half while our teacher talks to the flutes. We all know they’re her favorites! It probably has something to do with the fact that they actually try, but I digress. Over the years we’ve been forced to come up with increasingly more creative ways to keep ourselves preoccupied. Aside from having some awesome and, at times, deeply disturbing conversations, we have also pulled some rather exciting antics. It started off innocent enough. Who can forget the band favorite Second Line, an old jazz song we bust out every time things get dull. Funny story, she actually lets us go to lunch early the other day because we played Second Line at the “wrong time”, as if that was a thing, but hey early lunch!

20130502-181723.jpg

Well once you’ve played second line a million times, it starts to get monotonous. To fix this we threw in some pop songs. You haven’t lived until you’ve listened to the instrumental version of All of the Lights by Kanye West played soley on an out-of-tune trumpet, it’s glorious…well actually it sounds terrible, but it is entertaining. Pop Songs eventually got boring so we abandoned that for some iPhone games. We were in on all the fads, I’m talking words with friends, draw something, Ruzzle. After those all died off we had to go to an extreme to satisfy our intense boredom: Netflix. Of course we didn’t want to watch a movie with a lot I dialogue, so we chose a little documentary called, “Beavers: the whole Dam story.” And it was awesome. It essentially boiled down to a family of beavers trying to kill the camera man for an hour, with the exception of one awkward sex scene… I’m not going to lie to you. That was not the end of the things that we’ve done, however I can not tell you the rest due to the obscene nature of some of the crap we pull in band class. But hey, it’s a start!

And now for something completely different! As you well know my 50th blog post celebration is coming up, there will be fun and games, and if you get two of your friends to read my blog, I’ll waive your entrance fee! Well in the meantime, I’m going to figure out what I’m actually going to do for my 50th post, maybe ill make a cake, a 50 layer cake! While I’m doing that, catch up on all the posts you’ve missed and get ready to eat some 50 layer cake, I recommend fasting for the next few days.

