Real World Design Challenge

Milestone alert! This here blog post is the first one ever to be written above 10000 ft! Actually I don’t know if that’s true, but it is the first time I’ve written about stuff while cruising along above the clouds and sipping apple juice.

You probably heard me reference something called the Real World Design Challenge or RWDC for short. If you want to know what it is look it up, I’m tired of explaining it. Well this past weekend my team and I were in DC representing the great state of Vermont in the national competition. Yeah you could say I’s a bawse. In DC there’s a presentation portion that everyone does, and let me just say we rocked it. Now I’m a gentleman so I won’t disclose my specific opinions of the other teams, but I’ll just say I was not impressed. When it came time for awards we didn’t make the next round, but we did win an award for innovation. It was quite disappointing, but we held our heads high as we rode gallantly into the horizon, knowing that for us, the sun was just beginning to rise. Well that’s what we said so that it didn’t feel so bad losing to a bunch of tools- oops did I just say that out loud?

So much room for activities!
So much room for activities!

Whatever, that was the boring part. That night we were bored so we moved the bed to make room for activities and proceeded to have what the kids call a “rager” by which I mean we say around and listened to techno music. After that we set up an underground fight club in our room. The first fight: Neel vs Ronak. Consequently it was the only fight. It was also 4/20 so what did we do? Nothing. We’re engineers not pot-heads, get your head out of the gutters. But that was just one night, we had more antics to come!

The next day they made the mistake of setting us loose into the nation’s capital. We hit up the museums and such. Bugbee tried to steal the Declaration of Independence, but unfortunately for him, the guards were big Nicolas Cage fans. We were then going to go to the Newseum as it is affectionately called, but who wants to pay 12 dollars to look at old newspapers?! We then took a stroll through the National Art Gallery. Now if I could just talk to all those abstract artists out there. Hey! First off let me just congratulate you guys for convincing the viewing public that a yellow square on a piece of paper qualifies as museum worthy art. Now how do I get in on this “abstract art” schtick. Because I see abstract art and I say to myself, “hey, I could do that!” and I too would like to make millions of dollars off of work that requires minimal effort. That’s actually my bread and butter. Maximum reward for minimum effort. So is there like a sign-up sheet, or do I have to send a check to the union? What’s the deal? Just as long as their’s no elaborate hazing program, I’m good.

The dome is too big!
The dome is too big!

After that we just hung around the capital building. May I just say, I didn’t realize how dedicated the capital building guards are to keep people from standing on the water fountains in front of the capital building. Also, I didn’t realize, but the dome on the top of capital building is too big, it is almost comically oversized. look at it for a little bit, especially up-close, you’ll see that it’s as big, if not bigger, than the middle section of the capital.

Needless to say it was a great way to spend a weekend, well except for the losing part. My only complaint was it was very busy. On a side note, this whole week has been very busy, despite the fact that it’s vacation, I haven’t been home except for a day and a half. It also dosen’t help that I don’t yet have a laptop, and blogging from my phone is a pain. Well now that I have access to a computer, you’ll be seeing some of the things I’ve been intending to post for a while now, so excuse me if they seem a bit dated.

