Fieldtrips and Free Periods

I don’t know if you’re familiar with the environment of Vermont, but all you need to know is it’s cold. I woke up this morning and when I read the thermometer, it was -5 degrees out, and that’s no including the windchill! I’m suprised I didn’t instantly freeze the moment I walked out the door. The only reason I’m telling you this is because as I was walking from the senior parking lot (which is conveniently placed two mile from our school, uphill both ways) I almost died of frostbite, and you tell someone when you have a near death experience. But I’m actually telling you because our physics class took a field trip and our school is too poor to get us a school bus, so we had to walk. Though in their defense, the place we were going was across the street. But I can not express to you how cold it was walking the twenty feet from the school to the fire station.

You may be wondering why an AP Physics class would go to a fire station in the middle of Vermont winter (turn the winter up to eleven!!). We went there to see the thermal imaging cameras that they have.  It was cool, but I think its a sign that I play too many video games when I looked at the camera feed and immediately thought of the AC-130 mission from Call of Duty 4, but I digress. It was fun, we played with the cameras, then went out and looked at the fire engine (It was 2nd grade all over again).

The best part of the day came when we got back to school. Upon getting back to school I quickly realized that I had a free period, at the end of the day. One of the greatest feelings in the world is hearing the bell, then realizing that you don’t have to do anything for the rest of the day. The only problem is now I’m supposed to go to track practice, but that would require me to get up from the computer, and I just had a big lunch and its cold out and you know. Plus I have to work on this blog, I mean look how terrible it is, I think it would really be best if I just stayed home and worked on my blogging skills. It’s settled then no track today! But then again, I need the gym credit and…nope that’s it, the only reason to go to track, although I can’t graduate without it, hmmm what to do.

